Three Thumbs Up! (Also Best of 2016)

Okay so there are two days left in the year and I haven’t covered half of the albums that are on my best of the year list.

halfbaked
CUT ME SOME SLACK I’VE BEEN SICK

Anyway I figure that I can at least do three more even though they might have to be condensed a little bit. So here are three more albums that made my best of 2016 list.

doab

I have been a fan of P!ATD since their debut, A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out, came out in 2005(that was like eleven years ago by the way). It has been a long road for us fans and along the way we’ve dealt with the loss of original members(all of them but Brendon at this point), some Pretty Odd sound and conceptual changes, and that terrible time when they tried to remove the exclamation mark from the band name(not gonna lie, they almost lost me for good on that one). This album makes you glad that you didn’t abandon ship. Death of a Bachelor is a sonic juggernaut hitting you with multiple styles, great songwriting, and oh so catchy choruses. One of my favorite things about this album is how varied it is stylistically. One moment you’re jamming to a song that sounds like it came straight out of the swing jazz era, and the next you’re crooning along to a piece that you’d swear was a Sinatra cover song. This album is a great listen all the way through and is one of the few albums that has come out in recent times that I absolutely have to listen all the way through every time. I implore you to check this out if you’ve somehow haven’t already.

Overall Rating: 10/10

Standout Tracks: Emperor’s New Clothes, LA Devotee, Golden Days, Crazy=Genius

Favorite Line: Double bubble disco queen/headed to the guillotine/skin as cool as Steve McQueen/let me be your killer king

wo
This artwork is great

So I’ve mentioned these guys before, and if it wasn’t clear then that I have an affinity for what these guys make then I suppose I should make that clear now. I have an affinity for what these guys make.

wp-1483045080163.gif
Thanks Leo

But in all seriousness, I don’t think this band has put out a project that I didn’t like. That being said, Wiped Out! is a clear evolution from their previous works. While the first album served mostly as an introduction to the band and merely hinted at what they could do with somber tones and a black and white aesthetic, this album really expands upon those things. Each song is written from a place so honest that the listener can connect to it regardless of whether they’ve been in a similar position or not(and with songs covering lost love, new love, abandonment issues, and losing a loved one it’s safe to assume that most of us have been in similar places). There are a couple songs on this album that I might skip depending on if I’m in the mood for them or not, but overall I think that this is a really cohesive album that is definitely worth your time.

Overall Rating: 8/10

Standout Tracks: The Beach, Wiped Out!,Prey, Daddy Issues, R.I.P. 2 My Youth

Favorite Line: And you can throw shade, all it does is just cool me off/ first it just threw me off/ now I’m just moving on

1975
The album in which the title pretty much sums up the sound of the album

The 1975 returned this year with their incredible second album (*huge inhale)I Like It When You Sleep For You Are Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It. With this album with the annoyingly long title, the British art rockers create new worlds complete with various colors, moods, and tones. There are tracks that make you want to dance like She’s American and The Sound, there are tracks that make you feel like you’re going on a chemically supported trip like Lostmyhead, and there are tracks that make you simultaneously want to stand up in praise and question God’s existence like If I Believe You. One of my favorite things about this album, is the fact that it covers some pretty weighty concepts, but it does so it ways different from what you’d expect. I’ve heard plenty of songs about atheism, but never before have I head the pain of someone who despite all efforts and yearnings to believe in God, just simply can’t buy into it. I’ve also never heard such a harrowing depiction of cocaine addiction that made me want to dance so much.

ugh
Me listening to UGH!

My one problem with this album is that it’s a bit long, and I kind of have to schedule listenings if I want to hear the whole thing at once. That’s why I think this album’s title fits it so well. It’s beautiful, just a little too much.

Overall Rating: 9/10

Standout Tracks: UGH!, If I Believe You, This Must Be My Dream(THAT SAX SOLO THO), The Sound

Favorite Line: It’s not about reciprocation, it’s just all about me/ A sycophantic, prophetic, Socratic junkie wannabe/ There’s  so much skin to see/ a simple Epicurean philosophy

So there ya have it. Three album reviews to make up for the slack. Be sure to check these out and let me know what you think!

There’s Some Flava For Your Ear

  • Dare
Leave a Reply

